How To - Back up your user settings

Serif Software
This article is now archived. Please visit the Create a backup of your user settings article on CommunityPlus for an updated version.

Applies to:
AlbumPlus 4 and above
CraftArtist 1 and above
DrawPlus 8 and above
MoviePlus 5 and above
PagePlus 11 and above
Panorama Plus 1 and above
PhotoPlus 10 and above
Scan, Stitch and Share
Digital Scrapbook Artist 1 and above
WebPlus 10 and above

If you've got custom settings or data associated with your Serif product, it's highly recommended that you back up these settings before attempting to reset the program.

Customizations include any objects added to and/or changes made to the following areas:
  • Gallery
  • Brushes
  • Fills
  • Macros
  • User dictionary
  • Toolbar layout
  • Studio Tabs layout
  • Keyboard shortcuts
To back up your user settings:
  1. Make sure the Serif program in question is closed and is not running.
  2. Hold down the Windows key on your keyboard and press R.
  3. Type %appdata% and press Return. 
  4. Select the Serif folder and then click on the program you want to reset. 
  5. Right-click and rename the folder that relates to your version of the software. (To find the version, open your Serif program and then choose About from the Help menu.)

The app data folder should now be backed up successfully and you can continue resetting the program. For further instructions, see this related KB article - How To - Reset your user settings.

Note: If you're having problems backing up your user settings, contact Technical Support.